RockElectronicPopCountryJazzSoulHip hopClassicalReggaeLatinMediaBluesSoundsFor childrenMilitaryOther
» » Mercadante - Virginia
Mercadante - Virginia Album







MP3 album size:

2933 mb


MRF Records







Date of release:




Mercadante - Virginia Album


1Unknown Title
2Unknown Title


  • Baritone Vocals, Vocals [Virginio]Christian Du Plessis
  • ConductorJames Judd
  • LeaderPan Hon Lee
  • Libretto ByS. Cammarano
  • Music DirectorPatric Schmid
  • OrchestraUlster Orchestra
  • Soprano Vocals, Vocals [Virginia]Janet Price
  • Vocals [Appio]Bonaventura Bottone
  • Vocals [Icilio]Maurice Arthur
  • Vocals [Marco]John Tomlinson
  • Vocals [Tullia]Hilary Western
  • Vocals [Valerio]Alan Woodrow


Queen's University Festival
Whitla Hall
27 November, 1976


Virginia is an opera, a tragedia lirica, in three acts by composer Saverio Mercadante. The Italian libretto by Salvadore Cammarano is based on Vittorio Alfieri's tragedy of the same name. Alfieri's play was in turn taken from a story in Livy's Ab Urbe condita. Although initially written for performance in 1850 at the Teatro di San Carlo in Naples, the subject matter of Mercadante's opera was objected to by the Bourbon government censors and performance was banned outright. That decision was widely. Listen free to Saverio Mercadante Mercadante, S. Virginia Virginia: Act I: Introduction, Virginia: Act I Scene 1: Qui Roma Chorus and more. 42 tracks 155:57. Mercadante: Virginia. Act 1. Introduzione e Cavatina. Qui Roma. Saverio Mercadante. Stefano Antonucci, Maurizio Benini, Academy of St. Martin in the Fields, Susan Patterson. Альбом 2009 Песен: 42. Sound clip: Virginia Susan Patterson mourning her dead mother. Photos: Susan Patterson, Stefano Anonucci, Paul Charles Clarke, Charles is the first global music streaming service with high fidelity sound, hi-def video quality, along with expertly curated playlists and original content - making it a trusted source for music and Mercadante - Mercadante Concertos 1987. To favorites 0 Download album. Listen album. Classical Music. Songs in album Saverio Mercadante - Mercadante Concertos 1987. Saverio Mercadante - Concerto In D-Dur - I. Allegro Maestoso. Saverio Mercadante - Concerto In D-Dur - II. Andante Alla Siciliana. Saverio Mercadante - Concerto In D-Dur - III. Allegro Brillante. Saverio Mercadante - Concerto In E-Moll - I. Saverio Mercadante - Concerto In E-Moll - II. Saverio Mercadante - Concerto In E-Moll - III. Rondo Russo. VIRGINIA was Saverio Mercadante's last performed opera 1866, although composed about fifteen years earlier. This present recording now released by Opera Rara is done with all the care and completeness that opera-lovers have come to expect from that group. The notes by Jeremy Commons are exemplary, the multi-language libretto easy to follow. Virginia Mercadante. Just better. Mercadante first suggested Virginia as the subject of an opera to La Fenice in 1839, but the idea was rejected. After the triumphant success of his 1846 opera Orazi e Curiazi in Naples, Mercadante was invited to tour the Austrian territories of Venice, Triest, and Milan conducting performances of his own works. He left Naples to begin the tour in August 1847, and, after a success in Milan, was asked by La Scala to compose a new work, La schiava saracena The Saracen slave

Related to Mercadante - Virginia