RockElectronicPopCountryJazzSoulHip hopClassicalReggaeLatinMediaBluesSoundsFor childrenMilitaryOther
» » Emmylou Harris - Red Dirt Girl
Emmylou Harris - Red Dirt Girl Album


Emmylou Harris


Red Dirt Girl



MP3 album size:

2124 mb






Folk Rock, Country Rock



Date of release:




Emmylou Harris - Red Dirt Girl Album


1Bang The Drum Slowly4:51
3My Antonia3:44
4The Pearl5:02
5J'ai Fait Tout5:32
6One Big Love4:34
7Hour Of Gold5:01
8My Baby Needs A Shepherd4:40
10Red Dirt Girl4:19
11I Don't Wanna Talk About It Now4:47
12Boy From Tupelo3:49


CategoryArtistTitle (Format)LabelCategoryCountryYear
2 79616Emmylou Harris Red Dirt Girl ‎(CD, Album, Sli)Nonesuch2 79616Canada2000
324 872Emmylou Harris Red Dirt Girl ‎(CD, Album)Koch Records324 872Germany2000
noneEmmylou Harris Red Dirt Girl ‎(CDr, Album, Promo)The Grapevine Labelnone2000
79616-2Emmylou Harris Red Dirt Girl ‎(HDCD, Album)Nonesuch79616-2US2000
PRCD 300245Emmylou Harris Red Dirt Girl ‎(CD, Album, Promo)NonesuchPRCD 300245US2000


  • AccordionKate McGarrigle (tracks: 8)
  • Acoustic GuitarEmmylou Harris (tracks: 1 to 3, 5 to 7, 10, 12), Ethan Johns (tracks: 11, 12), Malcolm Burn (tracks: 8, 11)
  • Backing VocalsBruce Springsteen (tracks: 4), Daryl Johnson (tracks: 1, 3, 7, 8), Jill Cunniff (tracks: 3, 8, 9), Julie Miller (tracks: 3, 9, 12), Kate McGarrigle (tracks: 12), Malcolm Burn (tracks: 9), Patty Griffin (tracks: 6, 10)
  • Baritone Guitar [Acoustic]Daryl Johnson (tracks: 6)
  • Baritone Guitar [Electric]Emmylou Harris (tracks: 4, 7, 11), Ethan Johns (tracks: 6)
  • BassDaryl Johnson (tracks: 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 10, 11), Jill Cunniff (tracks: 3, 8), Malcolm Burn (tracks: 1, 2, 4, 5, 9, 12), Renee Coman (tracks: 6)
  • Coordinator [Project Coordination]Kathi Whitley
  • DesignJeri & John Heiden
  • Drum ProgrammingMalcolm Burn (tracks: 2, 4 to 6, 9)
  • DrumsCarlo Nuccio (tracks: 9), Daryl Johnson (tracks: 1), Ethan Johns (tracks: 3, 8, 9)
  • DulcimerMalcolm Burn (tracks: 6, 12)
  • E-Bow [Ebow]Ethan Johns (tracks: 7, 12)
  • Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes]Jim Watts (tracks: 8), John Deaderick (tracks: 9), Malcolm Burn (tracks: 4, 10)
  • GuitarBuddy Miller (tracks: 1, 5, 9, 11), Ethan Johns (tracks: 1, 2, 4, 9), Jill Cunniff (tracks: 3), Jill Cunniff (tracks: 8), Malcolm Burn (tracks: 3, 5 to 8, 12)
  • HarmonicaMalcolm Burn (tracks: 11)
  • ManagementKen Levitan, Vector Management
  • MandocelloEthan Johns (tracks: 10, 11)
  • Mandoguitar [Mando Guitar]Buddy Miller (tracks: 9)
  • Mastered ByJoe Gastwirt
  • Mixed ByJim Watts, Malcolm Burn
  • OmnichordEthan Johns (tracks: 5), Malcolm Burn (tracks: 11)
  • Pedal Steel GuitarBuddy Miller (tracks: 4, 11)
  • Pedalboard [Bass Pedals]Daryl Johnson (tracks: 5)
  • PercussionDaryl Johnson (tracks: 5 to 7, 11), Ethan Johns (tracks: 6), Malcolm Burn (tracks: 6, 12)
  • Photography ByMichael Wilson
  • PianoKate McGarrigle (tracks: 12), Malcolm Burn (tracks: 3, 4, 7, 12)
  • ProducerMalcolm Burn
  • Recorded ByJim Watts
  • SynthesizerMalcolm Burn (tracks: 10)
  • Synthesizer [Bass]Malcolm Burn (tracks: 7, 11)
  • TambourineMalcolm Burn (tracks: 3)
  • Twelve-String Guitar [12 String]Malcolm Burn (tracks: 4, 9)
  • VocalsDave Matthews (tracks: 11), Emmylou Harris, Patti Scialfa (tracks: 4)
  • Written-ByAngelo (tracks: 9), Daryl Johnson (tracks: 8), Emmylou Harris (tracks: 1 to 8, 10), Guy Clark (tracks: 7), Jill Cunniff (tracks: 8), Patty Griffin (tracks: 9), Rodney Crowell (tracks: 4)


CD comes packaged as a standard jewel case in a slipcase.

Recorded & mixed March-April 2000 at Clouet Street Studio, New Orleans, LA.
Mastered at OceanView Digital Mastering, Los Angeles, CA.
℗ and © 2000 Nonesuch Records for the United States and WEA International, Inc. for the world outside of the United States.


  • Barcode (Text): 9 325583 008627
  • Barcode (String): 9325583008627


  • Distributed By – Warner Music Australia
  • Manufactured By – Warner Music Australia
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Nonesuch Records
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – WEA International Inc.
  • Copyright (c) – Nonesuch Records
  • Copyright (c) – WEA International Inc.
  • Recorded At – Clouet Street
  • Mixed At – Clouet Street
  • Mastered At – Oceanview Digital Mastering



Red Dirt Girl - Emmylou Harris. Лента с персональными рекомендациями и музыкальными новинками, радио, подборки на любой вкус, удобное управление своей коллекцией. Red Dirt Girl is an Emmylou Harris album from 2000, which reached No. 3 on the Billboard country album charts and won the Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Folk Album in 2001. The album was a significant departure for Harris, as eleven of the twelve tracks were written or co-written by her. At the time, she was best known for covering other songwriters' work. Prior to this album, only two of Harris' LPs had more than two of her own compositions Gliding Bird in 1969, and The Ballad of Sally Rose in. Red Dirt Girl. Emmylou Harris. Produced by Malcolm Burn. Album Red Dirt Girl. Red Dirt Girl Lyrics. She said, There's not much hope for a red dirt girl Somewhere out there is a great big world That's where I'm bound And the stars might fall on Alabama But one of these days I'm going to swing my hammer down Away from this red dirt town I'm going to make a joyful sound. She grew up tall and she grew up thin Buried that old dog Gideon By a crepe myrtle bush at the back of the yard Her daddy turned mean and her mama leaned hard Got in trouble with a boy from town Figured that she might as well settle down So she dug right in across a red dirt line Just a litt. Here, drum loops and middle eastern melodies nestle in comfortably next to warm guitar work and Harris' gently wavering voice. Emmylou Harris - Red Dirt Girl 2000. To favorites 2 Download album. Listen album. Country Music. Пластинка выиграла премию Грэмми в номинации ''Лучший современный фолк альбом''. Songs in album Emmylou Harris - Red Dirt Girl 2000. Emmylou Harris - The Pearl. Emmylou Harris - Michelangelo. Emmylou Harris - I Don't Wanna Talk About It Now. Emmylou Harris - Tragedy. Emmylou Harris - Red Dirt Girl. Emmylou Harris - My Baby Needs A Shepherd. Emmylou Harris - Bang The Drum Slowly. Album 2000 12 Songs. Red Dirt Girl Emmylou Harris. Dirt Girl. Emmylou Harris Format: Audio CD. Consider this Emmylou Harris's emancipation proclamation-an album that confirms that 1995's adventurously atmospheric Wrecking Ball wasn't an aberration, but a preview of more radical changes to come. Long the godmother of alternative-country's traditionalist wing, Harris here writes songs with Luscious Jackson's Jill Cunniff, sings a duet with Dave Matthews My Antonia, and recruits Bruce Springsteen and Patti Scialfa to provide harmonies on the album's most compelling ballad Tragedy. This is the title track album of Red Dirt Girl. The album marked a significant departure for Harris, as eleven of the twelve tracks were written or co-written by her. She had previously been best known for covering other songwriters' work. Emmylou Harris explained the background to this song on her website: I am very, very inspired by the sound of words, and the names of places are so melodic and beautiful, she said. I was passing through Meridian on my way down to record in New Orleans and that's what started it. But what really took it over the edge fo. Red Dirt Girl, 2000. The Pearl, 05:00. Michelangelo, 05:12. I Don't Wanna Talk About It Now, 04:45. Tragedy, 04:21. Red Dirt Girl, 04:16. My Baby Needs a Shepherd, 04:37. Bang the Drum Slowly, 04:51

Related to Emmylou Harris - Red Dirt Girl